Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Downsizing, Euro-style

Leave a comment

In the spring of 1995, I discovered bath sheets. I was shopping for stuff to take to college and could not believe how amazingly awesome a bath sheet was. For those who haven’t had the pleasure, a bath sheet is bigger than a standard bath towel — a lot bigger. They’re over 3 feet wide and close to 6 feet long. If you’re not very tall (like me), you can completely wrap yourself up in one.

When I was packing to move to Spain, how many towels to bring was a question over which I pondered for a long while. All of the things that make them awesome also make them a pain in the ass to travel with: they take up a lot of space and are heavy. I settled on two.

Something I hadn’t considered was that the drying time for such a large piece of cloth would be exponentially longer and that in Spain, you hang things to dry. Having roommates means more shower usage which means even less time for the towel to dry between my showers. The situation quickly became untenable, since everyone knows how horrible it is to come out of the shower to a less than dry towel.

So, I had to switch. Now, I sometimes use normal bath-sized ones, but usually, two hand-towels do the trick just as well and they dry incredibly fast. I do miss being wrapped up like a little burrito in the mornings though.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

