Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Great Word: abrigar

Leave a comment

Spring arrived in the greater-Paris area (called la petite couronne) a few weeks ago, so I’ve been bundling up less which makes me sad. This got me thinking about a Spanish word that I won’t be able to use for a while, abrigar, which means to protect from cold.

While I am the Queen of Bundling (almost everyone I know has made fun of me at some point for my “excessive” use of clothing, hats, scarves and gloves), I prefer the Spanish word since the idea of protection is more precise. A thick coat abriga, but in English it would just be a warm garment. In French, the word used to describe such clothing is chaud, which just means “hot” which I don’t care for at all. The idea is to be, as Goldilocks so aptly put it, “just right.”

So, adios for now, abrigar. I’ll be saying you again soon.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

