Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Improve your life with one simple step

Leave a comment

I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions. It’s a totally arbitrary date in the middle of winter. No good reflection can come after weeks or months of the worst possible weather (unless you live in the southern hemisphere in which case I can’t relate to you at all).

But I think resolutions are good if they’re made at other times, after careful deliberation. The best one I’ve ever made came some years ago when I decided that I would no longer run to catch public transport ever again. It’s just not worth it.

I came to this conclusion when I was still living in Barcelona and found myself racing across streets and sidewalks and subway platforms like a crazy person at least once a day. Invariably, I’d get on the bus (or whatever) and be all sweaty and uncomfortable and the temperature inside would be too hot or too cold and I’d get even more uncomfortable and there was never a place to sit and I just said, “Fuck it. No more.”

Now I won’t even run to catch a train (though I’ve had near misses) and if you wait a couple minutes, another bus always comes, so I’ve come to believe that there really is no point in running. I don’t rush, I don’t push and I don’t get pushed. I mosey onto train cars, saunter onto buses and sashay down streets and life is much better.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

