Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Savage Love

Leave a comment

Why is this man laughing?

I got a package from my brother recently, and while I’m very pleased that I was able to parcel out the foodstuffs over a few days, there was no getting between me and the June/July 2012 issue of Esquire Magazine that was in there. He’d included it partly because Bruce Willis is on the cover and I love Bruce Willis beyond reason, but also because it’s Esquire and Esquire is my boyfriend.

If I could create the perfect guy, Weird Science-style, I’d throw in the last couple decades of my favorite Hearst publication (US edition), sans the “What I’ve Learned” issues, and wait for the result. Every issue makes me laugh and teaches me things and introduces me to lots of things that I will love.

This issue includes the Summer Preview and has this for July 6

Pot growers Taylor Kitsch and Aaron Johnson attempt to rescue their shared girlfriend from a Mexican cartel in Savages. Read Don Winslow‘s book before seeing the movie. Or just read Don Winslow’s book.

I’d already seen the trailer which does indeed look incredible, but they twice told me to read the book, so I did just that. I read Savages as soon as I’d finished the issue. It’s that simple. They print it, I do it. No questions asked.

It should come as no surprise that the book is fantastic and Winslow is a guy whose back catalog I will consume in its entirety before month’s end.

The novel starts by one-upping William Faulker, whose As I Lay Dying included the infamous chapter whose entirety read, “My mother is a fish.” Winslow’s first chapter is simply, “Fuck you” which I can totally get behind. On the following page, the narrator begins a book-long run of fun with language by telling us that one character calls her mother Paqu, an acronym for Passive Aggressive Queen of the Universe. There are many funny plays on words throughout the story, some of them in Spanish.

I should note that the plot was pretty well summarized by Esquire in less than twenty words, but in an incredible coincidence, that same week’s NYTimes Magazine cover story was about one of the drug cartels in the book! This is what I’m talking about with me and Esky — I laughed and I learned. This is all I want from the people (and publications) in my life.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

