Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Maybe the NYT just hates facts

Leave a comment

Double post today for no reason other than to point out how sad The New York Times makes me. One writer and an “additional reporting” credit and they can’t even get the goddamn lede right.

It was the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, not Golden. I know this because I have been sentient the whole of this year, something that neither John F. Burns nor Sandy Macaskill can claim.

As long as I’m here, I think that whole sentence stinks and is too long by half. I might have gone with something like “Despite the successes of Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee and the recent London Olympics, the British royal family continues to make headlines in all the wrong places.” But that’s just off the top of my head. If it were my actual job to write such things, I’d give it more than two seconds’ consideration.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

