Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

How to fox pass

Leave a comment

Forget the Dougie and Gangham Style! The latest dance craze is the Fox Pass. What? You haven’t heard of it? Why, it’s positively sweeping l’Hexagone. It’s easy, let me show you how to do it.

Start with your basic fox trot:

And then totally disregard the fox trot. The fox pass isn’t a dance at all. It’s a stupid thing I started saying when I was a kid that I continued to say all my life but that is way less funny now that I’m in France. A fox pass is a faux pas.

The real faux deal!

I started pronouncing it the other way after seeing a commercial on TV for “genuine faux pearls!” emphasis on the “faux.” It was clear that the ad was selling the whole Frenchness of the pearls, knowing full well that most people in the broadcast area had no idea that “faux” means “fake,” rendering a “genuine” version of anything described as such to be essentially worthless.

Of course, now when I say “fox pass” the joke falls on deaf ears or ears which are attached to people who think I’m an idiot. Sad panda.

Bonus!

French people doing a live version of the Beyoncé video…which was created as part of the Let’s Move! campaign to get American kids off their fat asses. I feel pretty weird about them “waving the American flag,” but I’m not sure they know what they’re miming.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

