Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

JD Salinger’s “The Heart Catcher”

Leave a comment

I’ve mentioned before (maybe) that I don’t read enough in French. I glance through the paper and some sites every day, but an actual novel or something a bit more complicated is just too annoying since I can’t read at the pace I’m used to, and I don’t like having to read with a reference material and pencil on hand.

Solution: read books in French that I basically know by heart.

Step one: get copies of books that I know backwards and forwards.

Exhibit A: The title page from J. D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye. Its French title is The Heart Catcher which I might complain about, but the original title makes almost as little sense. Of particular interest is that Annie Saumont translated it from “the American,” not just “English.” There were a few different editions at FNAC (awesome French media store) and all had this note. My initial reaction was ¡toma! but now that I’ve thought about it longer, I find it curiouser and curiouser.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

