Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Stanley Donen’s Paris Métro

Leave a comment

In Stanley Donen’s universe, you could get on at St. Jacques

Charade 1

and ride one stop to Palais Royal.

Charade 2

In the Paris I live in, the first stop is in the lower right and the second in the upper left, requiring at least two changes of lines.

Charade 3Charade (1963), a movie I defended as near perfect, is way less charming than I remembered. The plot, a mistaken identity / buried WWII treasure / comedy caper is still pretty good, but a lot of the romantic plot left me feeling uncomfortable. Cary Grant was bothered by it as well, arguing at the time that he was too old to play Audrey Hepburn’s love interest. I have no problem buying that (he’s Cary Grant!) but the fact that Hepburn is widowed on one day, in love a day and a half later and already engaged two days after that is concerning. Still, it’s worth it just to see Walter Matthau say “liverwurst” twice.

Other trivia factoid: Charade is what Julia Roberts’ character is watching in the hotel the first night she spends with Richard Gere in Pretty Woman.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

