Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Stupid rabbit

Leave a comment

Teaching English to foreign children can be tedious. Being amused and being amusing are the pillars of my existence, so going over dumb verbs and days of the week forever is like torture for me.

But it doesn’t have to be.

One thing I do is subvert lessons to make them more fun (for me). Oh, we’re going to count? Well, we’re gonna do it the way they did on “Sesame Street” complete with doo-doot-dah-doo-doos and we’re gonna dance once we hit 12 (“12!”).

Writing ESL books can be boring as hell too. But it doesn’t have to be.

This is a scan of a fraction of a page in a children’s vocab book that I came across several years ago.

stupid rabbit
It’s a little hard to make out at first, but there’s a live rabbit in this kitchen. The bigger kid is tripping over it and cursing it. This is one of my favorite things and I sometimes say, “stupid rabbit” when annoying things happen to me. And then I laugh because not only is that rabbit stupid, but, seriously, what the hell is he doing in the kitchen?

Huh

So, there’s today’s rabbit and then the “be a rabbit do it well” rabbit which means that I have two mantras about rabbits. This is really weird to me since I don’t like rabbits in any form. They’re not amusing pets, don’t taste particularly good and have vicious streaks “a mile wide.” I’ll have to spend the weekend pondering What This All Means.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

