Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

Why German Will Be My Next Language

Leave a comment

Thinking about how great THE GOONIES is motivated me to actually dig my copy out of a box. (That most of my stuff is still in boxes is super depressing and I don’t want to get into it.) Before I was even able to sit down and rewatch it, I started laughing. My copy is a Region 2 DVD that I got in Spain my first year as an expat, so the printing is in many languages, including German.

Goonies never say die... except in German.

Goonies never say die… except in German.

German is hilarious in general, but the fact that their definite article “the” is “die” means that almost anytime I see something in German, I crack up. And amusing myself is the most important thing I do all day, so being able to speak German would mean endless chortling, snickering and guffawing.

The best “die” has to be this one though since the Muppets are all “Yaaaaaay!” and German’s all, “DIE!”

This movie was not as funny as it should have been.

This movie was not as funny as it should have been.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

