Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

New York’s hottest train line is…

Leave a comment

The Ñ!

New TRain in NY

These modifications are all over the city, but this was the best picture I got of one. Someone very carefully placed printed stickers over the Ns all over the subway system, making me smile a lot.

Learn something antiquated

The summer after my sister taught me to read in English (reports vary as to my age, but it was probably when I was between three and a half and four and a half), I taught myself to read in Spanish using a great book series designed for school use. At that time, there were 30 characters in the Spanish alphabet: all the ones you know from English plus “ch,” “ll,” “ñ” and “rr.”

When I went to live in Spain as an adult, I remember being disappointed that not all of these combinations existed as separate letters anymore. For a brief moment, I was pissed that I’d wasted possibly twenty seconds of my childhood learning something that no longer counted.

Then I got over it ’cause that’s a totally silly thing to be annoyed about and I had way bigger problems to deal with.

Stefon SNLTouristic note

Something worth legitimately being upset about is that I was never able to attend any of the (totally fictional) clubs Stefon recommended on SNL’s Weekend Update. I’ve been practicing my Wilford Brimley impression for ages and now I don’t know when I’ll ever be able to use it. (Here’s a super cut of Stefon moments, but if you haven’t actually seen the segments, it doesn’t make much sense.)

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

