Le cul entre les deux chaises

An American Spaniard in France or: How I Learned to Make an Ass of Myself in Three Cultures

EXT. RUE CHAMPOLLION – DAY

Leave a comment

I derive a lot of pleasure from writing my Spanish screenplay, but I realized that so much negativity should be countered by something positive, so here’s my French screenplay about real things that happen to me which make me love France.

La_Filmothèque_Quartier_Latin

GIRL arrives at the Filmothèque du Quartier Latin an hour before the screening of BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID. She is the only person outside the closed cinema and pulls out her ebook to wait for the box office to open.

Three-quarters of an hour later, GIRL‘s still at the front of the line, now with ticket firmly in hand. There is a GAGGLE OF PEOPLE behind her, including one very distinctive OLD LADY, shoulders hunched, wearing a long teal wool coat. GIRL is still reading.

OLD LADY

What I like about Westerns is that the men are so handsome.

GIRL looks around to see who the woman is addressing and, seeing no possible candidates, thinks it might be her.

GIRL

Excuse me?

OLD LADY

The men, the men! There’s something about these men in Westerns that’s so… evocative of… men.

GIRL

Uh, yes. The men in Westerns are men.

OLD LADY

It’s not that other men aren’t available.

OLD LADY juts her jaw in the direction of the other line that’s formed, one for THE SOUND OF MUSIC. OLD LADY rolls her eyes.

OLD LADY

But some kinds of men just can’t be in a Western. I don’t have any use for those kinds.

GIRL

Well, you can’t do much better than the two in this movie. Newman and Redford were better looking in other pictures, maybe, but they’re almost perfect in this one. And it’s funny.

OLD LADY

Comedy! pftt! It’s THE MEN I’m talking about. The men!

GIRL

Well, I am not disagreeing. I agree with you. The men are something special.

The OLD LADY finally relaxes her shoulders and directly addresses GIRL for the first time.

OLD LADY

Yes! I’m glad you agree.

The matter settled, the OLD LADY smiles and gazes off into the distance. GIRL looks down and smiles too, but this time it’s the OLD LADY she’s appreciating, not the men.

Author: le cul en rows

I'm an American Spaniard, living in France. I like to tell stories.

tell me something good

